Senate Votes to Block Trump’s Border ‘Emergency’, 12 Republicans Join Dems

posted by Hannity Staff - 3.14.19

The Senate voted Thursday to block President Trump’s “national emergency” declaration along the US-Mexico border; setting the stage for the Commander-in-Chief’s first veto should he choose to override the resolution.

The official tally was 59-41 with 12 Republican Senators siding with their Democratic colleagues.

“The measure passed 59-41 as roughly a dozen Republicans joined Democrats in voting for the resolution, despite White House efforts to keep the GOP united on the issue of border security,” reports Fox News.

“I understand the politics are difficult – much harder for you than for me — but our nation, our Constitution, the beauty of this government, demands that we rise to the occasion this afternoon,” said Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer.

Republicans who voted against Trump’s declaration included Senators Romney, Portman, Collins, Murkowski, Lee, Rubio, and Paul.

This is a developing story. Check back for updates.

PELOSI’S PLOT: House Passes Legislation to BLOCK Trump’s National Emergency Declaration

posted by Hannity Staff - 2.27.19

The Democrat-controlled House of Representatives passed legislation Tuesday afternoon that seeks to block President Trump’s “national emergency” declaration along the southern border; sending the bill to the United States Senate where it will likely be voted down.

“The House of Representatives passed a resolution late Tuesday afternoon that would terminate President Trump’s national emergency proclamation, which is also being challenged in court by a multistate lawsuit,” reports CBS News.

The final tally was 245 in favor and 182 against; a vote which largely went down party lines but had 13 Republican Representatives joining their Democratic colleagues.

“This is the most consequential vote that we’ve taken with respect to the separation of powers probably in decades and with respect to the balance of power in the constitution between the president and Congress,” said Rep. Joaquin Castro, the legislation’s top sponsor.

Read the full report at CBS News.

WHAT CRISIS? House Democrats Introduce Bill to BLOCK Trump’s ‘Emergency Declaration’

posted by Hannity Staff - 2.22.19

Democrats in the House of Representatives introduced new legislation Friday that would effectively eliminate President Trump’s “national emergency” declaration; setting the stage for a potential political brawl in the US Senate.

“House Democrats on Friday introduced a resolution to block the national emergency declaration that President Donald Trump issued to fund his long-sought wall along the U.S-Mexico border,” reports the Associated Press.

House Speaker Pelosi confirmed a vote would likely take place Tuesday.

If passed by the House -and ultimately passed by the Senate- it could become President Trump’s first veto.

“What the president is attempting is an unconstitutional power grab,” said Rep. Joaquin Castro -a sponsor of the bill. “There is no emergency at the border.”

Read the full report at the AP.

Thank you for visiting Hannity.com. You are about to leave
Hannity.com and proceed to a site owned and operated by a third party.
Hannity.com has no control over the content of this third-party site.
Click OK to proceed.
You may if you would no longer like to receive a newsletter.
You have been successfully unsubscribed!
Please see our Terms of Use and Privacy Notice .
If you have any questions or concerns please contact us.