HANNITY HISTORY LESSON: Understanding the ‘Gang of Eight’

posted by Hannity Staff - 4.22.19

After two-years of non-stop investigations and probes into allegations of Russian election interference, the so-called ‘Gang of Eight’ continues to play a crucial role in how our elected leaders’ gain access to classified and sensitive intelligence material.

What is the Gang of Eight?

The term is a commonly-used expression referring to a bipartisan group of eight congressional leaders from both parties; consisting of four senators and four representatives.

Over time the term has been used to cover a series of controversial policies -such as immigration reform- but currently refers to the nation’s top lawmakers in charge of the intelligence committees, leadership positions, and those regularly briefed by the White House and Executive Branch.

Current members of the Gang of Eight on Intelligence are Rep. Adam Schiff, Rep. Devin Nunes, Sen. Richard Burr, Sen. Mark Warner, Rep. Nancy Pelosi, Rep. Kevin McCarthy, Sen. Mitch McConnell, and Sen. Chuck Schumer.

The ‘gang’ routinely receives updates from the President, the Attorney General, the Department of Justice, and others on a series of confidential and potentially sensitive topics.

Thank you for visiting You are about to leave and proceed to a site owned and operated by a third party. has no control over the content of this third-party site.
Click OK to proceed.
You may if you would no longer like to receive a newsletter.
You have been successfully unsubscribed!
Please see our Terms of Use and Privacy Notice .
If you have any questions or concerns please contact us.